RESOLUTION TO AMEND THE FACULTY SENATE CONSTITUTION REGARDING TERM LIMITS

WHEREAS, Faculty Senate officers are enumerated in Article IV, Section 1 of the Faculty Senate Constitution; and

WHEREAS, experience has shown that it is beneficial to have a mix of senators, cabinet members, officers and University Committee members with varying lengths of service; and

WHEREAS, colleges and departments should be free to decide which representatives best serve their interests;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Article III, Section 5 of the Faculty Senate Constitution be amended as follows (with changes noted in red):

Section 5. *Term of Membership and Vacancies:* Senators are elected for a term of three years except as prescribed in the bylaws, and are eligible for re-election as prescribed in the bylaws. but may not serve more than two consecutive terms (full or partial). Senators serve until their successors take office. Vacancies in unexpired terms are filled as prescribed in the bylaws.

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Article IV, Section 7 of the Faculty Senate Constitution be amended as follows (with changes noted in red):

Section 7. *Term of Office and Vacancies*: Officers are elected for a term of one year and are eligible for re-election <u>as prescribed in the bylaws.</u>, but may not serve more than two years consecutively in one office. The beginning and ending dates of the terms of office are prescribed in the bylaws. Vacancies in unexpired terms are filled in the same manner as are full terms.

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Article V, Section 1 of the Faculty Senate Constitution be amended as follows (with changes noted in red):

Section 1. *The Faculty Senate Cabinet:* The members of the cabinet are the president, vice president, and secretary treasurer officers of the Faculty Senate, and one senator from each college and the library not represented by the officers. Faculty Senate cabinet members who are not senate officers are elected for a term of one year by caucus of the senators of the respective colleges and are eligible for re-election as prescribed in the bylaws. A senator may not be elected to the cabinet for more than two consecutive terms. The functions and duties of the cabinet are to serve as the executive committee of the Faculty Senate to which it is responsible and to which it reports regularly on the disposition

of matters submitted to it; to act on behalf of the Faculty Senate between senate meetings; and to discharge other duties in accordance with parliamentary procedure and the Faculty Senate constitution and bylaws.

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Article V, Section 2 of the Faculty Senate Constitution be amended as follows (with changes noted in red):

Section 2. *Standing Committees and Work Groups*: Standing committees and work groups are established to carry out the functions and operation of the Faculty Senate. Standing committees and work groups report to the Faculty Senate. All standing committee and work group actions (excepting those of the Committee on Reconciliation) are subject to review by the Faculty Senate. Additional standing committees and work groups may be established upon recommendation of the president of the Faculty Senate, the cabinet, or a senator, and approval of the Faculty Senate. Standing committees and work groups include the Committee on Reconciliation and others as <u>listed prescribed</u> in the bylaws.

- Committee on Reconciliation: The Committee on Reconciliation is composed of tenured faculty members eligible for membership in the Faculty Senate. The rules for membership on the Committee on Reconciliation are contained in the bylaws. Members are nominated by the Faculty Senate cabinet and elected by the Faculty Senate. At least one member shall be a senator. Faculty appointed to administrative positions with responsibility for recommending promotions, salary adjustments, and distribution of teaching, research, and extension assignments are ineligible for membership. A member is elected for a term of three years and is eligible for <u>re-election as prescribed in the bylaws</u>. The committee elects its chair and secretary. The functions and duties of the Committee on Reconciliation are to offer advice and counsel to faculty members who seek it; to consider private matters of privilege, academic freedom, and tenure submitted to it by members of the faculty or administration; and to assist members of the faculty and the administration in resolving such questions as those of academic freedom and tenure.
- Other Committees: Membership to other standing committees within the university is appointed by the Faculty Senate president with consultation of the senate cabinet. These committees include the Faculty Review Committee and the Ethics Committee. See the Faculty Handbook for composition and function descriptions.

RECOMMENDATION:

That the Board of Visitors approve this resolution, effective immediately. August 26, 2019